Listen to this article

The University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) is a public research university in Hefei, Anhui, China. The university is affiliated to the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and co-funded by the academy, the Ministry of Education, and the Anhui Provincial Government.

Founded in Beijing by the Chinese Academy of Sciences in September 1958, the university moved to Hefei in the beginning of 1970 during the Cultural Revolution. The university was founded with the mission of addressing urgent needs to improve China’s economy, defense infrastructure, and science and technology education. Its core strength is scientific and technological research, and more recently has expanded into humanities and management with a strong scientific and engineering emphasis. The university has 13 schools, 11 national research platforms, 8 science-education integration colleges, and 5 joint cooperative institutes with local governments. The university is a member of C9 League and the Double First Class University Plan.

The University of Science and Technology of China is consistently ranked in the world’s top 100 universities in the most-widely read university rankings in the world such as the Academic Ranking of World Universities, the Times Higher Education World University Rankings and the QS World University Rankings. Regarding scientific research output, the Nature Index 2022 ranks USTC the No.2 university in China and the Asia Pacific region, and 5th in the world among the global universities (after Harvard, Stanford, MIT, and UCAS). Because of its dominant leadership position and reputation in Science & Engineering research, USTC is often being described as “the Caltech of China”.

Facilities Spend
Scientific Research Innovation
International Reputation
Student Service
Teaching & Training
Previous article尊生 – Chinese philosophy and culture
Next articleWuhan University
university-of-science-and-technology-of-chinaThe University of Science and Technology of China is a new type of university established by the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) after the founding of the New China. The University was founded in Beijing in September of 1958.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here